Deprecated: mysql_pconnect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/dirt/public_html/Connections/nmedia3.php on line 9
Oakley Bomb & Awards- Dirt Illustrated Magazine

Oakley Bomb & Awards

Ryan Villapoto holds up his Oakley Bomb Award at last weeks Washougal MX National. The award is for the fastest qualifier time at each National event. RV2 has four Oakley bombs thus far. Will he be able to take a fifth at Ryan Dungey's home track on Saturday? We will have to see...
Photo Courtesy: Matt Rice / 


Oakley Bomb Award
The Oakley Bomb Award is given out to the rider that sets fastest qualifier time at each event on the Lucas Oil Motocross series. This year, Ryan Villapoto possesses four Oakley Bomb Awards, through the first eight rounds.That means four points towards the season tally that determines an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at series end.
Who will win the next Oakley Bomb award at Millville, MN? The Millville track is Ryan Dungey's home circuit, so RV2 will have his work cut out for him to take it there. Should be interesting race, that's for sure.
Red Bull KTM's Ryan Dungey captured the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Award in moto one at Washougal. But it was Team Honda Musclemilk's Justin Barcia who grabbed the lead for holeshots going into round 9 of the 12 race series.
Photo Courtesy of Simon Cudby
Motocycle Holeshot championships
Through eight rounds, Team Honda Muscle Milk's Justin Barcia and Yoshimura Suzuki's James Stewart sit atop the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship standings. They have a tied score of seven points each. Yamaha's Josh Grant holds a strong third place in the standings with five points.
The Holeshot award is given at the end of the season. The award for taking the top spot is a cool $25,000 for the 450cc class and $15,000 for the 250cc class. Not chump change for sure. Look for round nine of the 12 event Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship to resume this Saturday, July 27, in Millville, MN at the Red Bull Spring Creek National.
STILL FREE TO VIEW NEW ISSUE! No pass code needed...
Chad Reed wins a wild one at Anaheim 2!
RV2 Back in Form in Phoenix Supercross...
Cal City GP win goes to JCR's Evan Kelly...
Brad Baker wins final and the championship at AMA Flat Track National at Pomona
MX History 101
Roczen 'freak' dust storm steals title away in Utah...
Americans Ryan Dungey, Justin Barcia and Eli Tomac to compete at 2013 FIM Motocross of Nations .
A few minutes with KTM CEO Stefan Pierer